How to save time with these easy makeup tips

My morning makeup routine has changed dramatically since I began wearing makeup at 13.  Back then I was much more cover-up driven and focused on eliminating oil and shine…now at 30, my priorities have shifted.  I never leave the house without applying moisturizer to keep my skin healthy and glowing.

Typically the goal of my beauty routine is to keep my makeup looking natural, fresh, and wearable throughout the day.  I work in an office from 8 – 5 weekly and the environment is “conservative business professional” … so I try to keep a smooth appearance without wearing anything too heavy.  I’ve now mastered applying my daily beauty look in under 10 minutes…here’s how.

I start with a clean face, and apply my favorite moisturizer immediately after stepping out of the shower.  I love Olay’s Active Hydrating Facial Moisturizer for its clean, lightweight feel and it provides the perfect base without drying out my skin.  Lately, I’ve become obsessed with applying the light cream to the thin skin under and around my eyes and lids to post-pone those wrinkles as much as possible.  It also acts as a great primer for eye liner and highlighter if I’m doing a more glam, evening look.

Next I apply a liquid foundation with a makeup sponge (these cosmetic wedges from Target my faves).  My go-to foundation is L’Oreal’s True Match in Nude Beige.  It’s extremely light-weight and goes on quickly and evenly.  I’m a big fan of keeping my makeup feeling clean and this foundation achieves just that.  Plus it’s got SPF 17 built-in so I save myself that extra step of safe-guarding my skin from UV rays all year round.

To set my look, I dust a light layer of sheer powder with Bare Minerals – Mineral Veil Finishing Powder.  This stuff is incredible for smoothing out my skin and adding a glowing finish without looking too shiny.  It’s also great for all skin tones so I don’t have the added stress of matching pigments to my specific skin tone.

I have two makeup brushes that I use daily – a large brush for all-over powder and a smaller size for applying blush (this brand is my absolute go-to for its soft rich bristles that work well with sensitive skin).  I rarely leave the house without applying a soft blush to give a refreshed appearance.  Lately I’ve been using NYX Ombre Blush in Nude to Me.  This product has built-in highlights to create a radiating affect.  I start at the apples of my cheeks and sweep a fine dusting in a diagonal upwards towards my hair-line.  Depending on the time of year I’ll mix up the blush shades, using a more rosy hue during the winter months and incorporate corals and bronzes during the summer to compliment my changing skin tone.

I’ll do a quick curl of my eyelashes and next I’ll focus on my brows.  I never paid any attention to my eyebrows until a few years ago when I signed up for a complimentary makeup tutorial at Sephora.  I was a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding and instead of paying for professional makeup, I decided to take the plunge and purchase the high quality stuff and learn how to apply it expertly myself.  It was well worth it as I still use those application techniques (including brow shaping!) today.  I like to swipe a dark brown shade of fine brow powder and I then define the color with a small brow brush.  This quick makeup trick helps to make my eyes and brows pop without needing to add eye liner.

My very last step for makeup is mascara.  I apply a few swipes to each set of lashes and use a Q-tip to clean up any smudges should they occur.  I try to purchase fresh mascara every month or so to keep my lashes clean and void of pesky bacteria.  I’m currently using L’Oreal’s Original Voluminous mascara in their darkest shade to make my eyes pop.

And less than 10 minutes later I’m out the door!  Scroll down for a before and after from this morning’s application as well as the products I’m currently loving.

What are some of your favorite makeup products, tips and tricks??  Let me know in the comments below!

IMG_2695

IMG_2692

IMG_2696

 

IMG_2700
Pre Beauty Routine
IMG_2701
Post Beauty Routine
Leave a Reply

